Friday, July 3, 2009

We are ready for 2010

Well, last Sunday saw the Confederations Cup curtain close. The Samba boys are the champs. Sorry US, but you really tried. President Obama should be proud of you. And while at that it was a pleasure recently to chat to business colleagues from the US who actually watched the Confed Cup, and not the NBA or NHL!

Staging the Confederations Cup was an eye-opener for me, I must say. We did a good job - thanks LOC, SAPS, transport people and everybody else, particularly FIFA. Sepp Blatter has always been a friend of SA. And seeing we're in a name-changing mood, we might as well name a street or even a stadium after him.

But to say our preparations were perfect, would not be correct!

Transport
As many have already said, we need to sort out our stadium transport system. I have no problem riding local taxis, my problem is when I have to join a long queue. I don't have much talent for queues!

And to make supporters, and foreign ones for that matter, join long queues was just not on. The Confed Cup was a pilot - I hope we learnt valuable improvement lessons.

Empty Rustenburg stadium
Then comes the issue of the empty Rustenburg stadium. No offence to my loved North West people, but they disappointed us a bit. At least they should have made stadiums to be half-full.

If the LOC is planning to use that stadium again (I bet they'll use it), then they should make sure they market the games well. Otherwise what else would move the Bafokeng brothers and sisters if Fernando Torres, David Villa, Kaka and Robinho don't move them?

Ellis Park was messed up!

No offence, Ellis Park is a beautiful stadium, but to use it in winter along Rugby games was not a good decision. It looked bad on TV to see the gravel behind the goalposts. Let's hope the Gauteng Lions won't be using it anymore beyond March next year.

The glory of the Vuvuzelas

Whoever came up with that loud, lousy, unbearably noisy genius is a phenomenon. Vuvuzela's are so loud and sometimes annoying they're fascinating! I love them though, and I dare say every South African who can afford one, should buy one for 2010.

It was very amusing to read some of international online media reviews: Vuvuzelas were really irritating a number of overseas folks. Of course most of the criticism is purely a snobbish, what-do-those-monkey-Africans-think-they-are attitude!

Let's just do our thing come 2010: let's blow the vuvuzelas so loud that if there's nothing we can be remembered of, we are remembered for bringing noise and vibe to the games.

And last...Bafana's performance

Against Iraq, we were sluggish and we possessed the ball without much purpose. Against New Zealand, we were average against an average team. Against Spain, well....I missed that one as I was travelling, but I was told it was a much more improved performance.

Against Brazil, we played the second best game of the tournament after the Egyptians when they lost 4-3 to the Brazilians. Our match against Brazil was played with zeal, determination, hunger, skill and discipline.

I was really impressed to see the boys holding their own. Tshabalala was the Tshabalala I know, Teko eventually came to the party, Schillo showed why he is so rated at Everton, and Khune, well, you go boy!

So all in all, we are basically ready for 2010, but we still need to improve, as FIFA correctly pointed out. I'm confident Bafana Bafana will make it to the 2nd round, assuming the SA craziness of firing coaches before tournaments won't raise its ugly head again.

Come 2010!